MTD Software for Landlords: What Actually Works for Rental Income
Last updated: · Prices checked on vendor sites on 31 October 2026
Six products below are Ready now for UK property on HMRC's finder. Making Tax Digital for Income Tax (MTD for ITSA) applies only if your qualifying income is over the threshold for the year. Hammock skips sole-trader income. FreeAgent and Sage omit foreign property. My Tax Digital's checked list price is £0.
Whether you must file at all is on Making Tax Digital for landlords. The wider rules are in the MTD for ITSA guide.
Six options, from the shared price list
Affiliate disclosure: this is the first block of Visit links on the page. They use /go/… andrel="sponsored nofollow", and the redirect records the click. FreeAgent goes to/go/freeagent-landlords/. No affiliate ID is configured, so nothing is added to the query string. A commission would not change the price or the finder status.
QuickBooks is left out of the six because its list price was not on the pricing page. 123 Sheets and VitalTax are compared on bridging software.
| Software | Type (HMRC finder) | UK property | Foreign property | Joint-ownership split | MTD for VAT | Price (vendor site) | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreeAgent | Creates records | Yes | No (Not included)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | Yes | Sole trader: £19/month · £190/yearexcl. 20% VAT · 50% off first 6 months (£9.50/month) or first year (£95)Landlord: £10/month · £100/yearexcl. 20% VAT · 50% off first 6 months (£5/month) or first year (£50)Price source: www.freeagent.com, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Xero | Creates records | Yes | Yes (Ready now)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | Yes | Simple (non-VAT registered): £7/month · £84/yearexcl. VAT · First 6 months £0.70/month (90% off), then £7/monthIgnite (includes VAT returns): £18/month · £216/yearexcl. VAT · First 6 months £1.80/month (90% off), then £18/monthPrice source: www.xero.com, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Hammock | Records + bridging | Yes | Yes (Ready now)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | No | Basic, 1–3 properties: £8/month · £76.80/year+VAT · Annual billing saves 20%Standard, 4–10 properties: £15/month · £144/year+VAT · Annual = 12 × monthly less 20%Plus, 11–20 properties: £25/month · £240/year+VAT · Annual = 12 × monthly less 20%Beyond, 21+ properties: From £31.50/mo ex VAT (£302.40/yr), confirmed by property countPrice source: www.usehammock.com, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Sage Sole Trader | Creates records | Yes | No (Not included)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | No | Sole Trader Free: Free (£0)Sole Trader: £7/month · £84/yearexcl. 20% VAT · 90% off first 6 monthsPrice source: www.sage.com, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| Coconut | Records + bridging | Yes | Yes (Ready now)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | Yes | MTD filing: £12.99/month · £129.99/year14-day free trialMTD Bridging (spreadsheets): £49.99/yearAnnual onlyPrice source: www.getcoconut.com, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
| My Tax Digital | Records + bridging | Yes | Yes (Ready now)Source: HMRC finder | Not stated by vendor | Yes | Free (£0)Price source: mytaxdigital.co.uk, checked 31 Oct 2026 | Visit |
Income-source and VAT statuses are copied from each product's HMRC finder page, checked 31 October 2026.The Foreign property column links to that page. Joint-ownership split is not a status on those HMRC finder pages, so this column says Not stated by vendor. Prices are list prices from each vendor pricing page on the same date, before introductory discounts. A pricing-page link is the source for the price only.
How to read the six
FreeAgent
UK property is Ready now and foreign property is Not included on finder product 3192. The shared list has a landlord plan at £10 a month or £100 a year, excluding 20% VAT, separate from the £19 sole-trader plan. The Visit link opens FreeAgent’s landlords page. FreeAgent describes that account as being for unincorporated landlords.
Xero
UK property and foreign property are both Ready now. Simple is £7 a month excluding VAT. Ignite is £18 a month excluding VAT and is the plan that includes VAT returns. The introductory offer on the price file is 90% off the first 6 months (£0.70 then £7 on Simple, £1.80 then £18 on Ignite). List prices are before that offer. Employment income and capital gains were In development on the finder.
Hammock
The finder name is Hammock for landlords. Sole trader income is not included. UK and foreign property are Ready now. MTD for VAT is not included. Prices step up with the number of properties. The 21+ band is a “from” price.
Sage Sole Trader
The finder name covers Sage Sole Trader & Landlord. UK property is Ready now. Foreign property and MTD for VAT are not included. The vendor page lists Sole Trader Free at £0 and Sole Trader at £7 a month.
Coconut
UK property, foreign property and MTD for VAT are Ready now, and the product is also bridging software. MTD filing is £12.99 a month or £129.99 a year. The bridging plan is £49.99 a year. The shared price file has no VAT label for those figures, so none is shown.
My Tax Digital
The finder lists a free version. UK property, foreign property and MTD for VAT are Ready now. The checked price is £0.
Not in this table
QuickBooks (QuickBooks (Intuit)) is Ready now for UK property and Not included for foreign property. QuickBooks UK prices are drawn by JavaScript. The page fetched on 31 Oct 2026 did not include a numeric price.Pricing page.Visit QuickBooks
Frequently asked questions
Which of these does HMRC recommend for landlords?
None. HMRC’s finder does not recommend a product. Each of the six was Ready now for UK property when the finder was read on 31 October 2026.
Do all six cover foreign property?
No. The HMRC finder marks foreign property Ready now for Xero, Hammock, Coconut and My Tax Digital, and Not included for FreeAgent and Sage. That status is the finder column, cited on each row.
Can the software split a jointly owned property?
Not stated by vendor. Joint-ownership split is not a column on the HMRC finder pages, and the vendor pricing pages used for these prices do not state one. Your qualifying income still uses your share.
Why are QuickBooks, 123 Sheets and VitalTax not in the six?
QuickBooks is Ready now for UK property and Not included for foreign property, but the pricing page fetched on 31 October 2026 did not include a numeric price, so no figure is shown. 123 Sheets and VitalTax are on the bridging software page.
Sources (GOV.UK)
- Find software that works with Making Tax Digital for Income TaxSource: GOV.UK, published , updated
- Choose the right software for Making Tax Digital for Income TaxSource: GOV.UK, published , updated
- Find out if and when you need to use Making Tax Digital for Income TaxSource: GOV.UK, published , updated
- HMRC software finder: Find software that works with Making Tax Digital for Income TaxSource: HMRC service on GOV.UK, checked